top of page

Permission to: pause | Permiso para: pausar

It's Saturday morning and the blinds are lifted, the french press is brewed, the overheads are off and John Lucas is softly streaming through the Bose.

The spring semester has just begun, here in Chapel Hill, and I know I'm not alone in feeling the weight of it - the overstimulation of seeing everyone, navigating the dining halls, and receiving endless email notifications.

The past few weeks back on Carolina's lovely campus have been a stark contrast to the three weeks prior in Greensboro. At home I indulged in slow mornings with wholesome breakfasts, scheduled about one activity a day and dedicated my down time to doing the simple things - creating, thrifting and connecting with family and close friends.

The initial return to Chapel Hill, where time is money and value is directly tied to academic, social and extracurricular performance, is always somewhat unsettling for me.

While I absolutely love Carolina, I don't love the harshness of the academia culture. "More is more" is the unspoken motto, and if you have

margin in your life, you're doing something wrong.

Constantly I hear a hushed,

"What have you actually done today? Do you really deserve to rest?

Have you decided what you're going to do tomorrow, next weekend, this summer?

But a bolder voice calls,

"Mare, come out to pasture and rest in the peace that I am.

Let go of your striving, visions and agenda. Receive Me and My dreams for your life.

Let them become your own."

Psalm 23 | Jeremiah 29

I have to make a daily, moment by moment, choice to decide which invitation to accept. We all do. This productivity-obsessed mentality is not limited to millennials or unique of universities, but domineers across generations.

I know, deep in my soul, that the call of the Shepherd is the highest, most wholesome one there is. Yet, sometimes I choose to deviate from His path. I choose to blaze my own trail or follow the culture's.

In the moment, both of these seem viable and good, empowering even.

But afterwards, empty and insecure because I can't quite keep up or because I tripped on a root and fell on my face, I realize, for maybe the tenth time that day, that this path of performance is not where I want to be.

Instead, I want to be moving forward at a steady rate, free to stop as needed, to notice the details:

frozen flowers - red cardinals - simple j o y.

I recognize that a slower pace is what I desire yet I still struggle to slow down in some areas of my life.

The reality? I need constant reminders and encouragement toward a margin-filled life.

Brené Brown, in her book Rising Strong, presents the concept of writing permission slips as a practical & intentional way of gently freeing ourselves to feel whatever we are feeling. She says,"we are not going to recognize emotion, if we don't feel like we have permission to feel emotion."

I would say the same is true for decisions and the experiences they bring. I am not going to choose to slow down and have margin, if I don't feel like I have permission to do so - permission to p a u s e. The culture is certainly not going to give this freedom, but hallelujah: The Lord delights in intentional stillness.

"In the midst of an exceedingly busy ministry, Jesus made a habit of withdrawing to a 'lonely place apart. [...]

He sought out His Heavenly Father; he listened to Him, he communed with Him.

And He beckons us to do the same."

The Celebration of Discipline, 16 & 17 | Mark 1:35

I don't know if my calling to a slower pace of living came after I discovered Counter Culture Coffee or if I chose that brew because it went nicely with the theme, but I do know that living slower, intentionally scheduling margin in our day-to-day lives, and not remaining caught in the performance trap, is exactly that - counter cultural.

As a side note,

I highly recommend the coffee.

It's sustainably sourced & roasted

close to home - Durham, NC.

Today, this lifestyle is easy. It looks like me resting in my room, sipping coffee, reflecting and writing. The rest of the week will be a bit more challenging. I’ll be fighting for stillness in the midst of classes, friendships and work.

But the challenge doesn't have to be a setback. Every day is a new invitation to walk alongside the Shepherd, wherever He leads. The adventure is that every day is unique.

Yet, the common thread that holds each day together is

full security that my worth does not come from anything I do or don't do.

Rather, it's bestowed upon me from the One who made me.

This security - it makes all the difference.

Let's enjoy our moments, wherever they may be.

Let's pause to appreciate the beauty that's been waiting for us.

Let's challenge the culture of idolized productivity.

...

Es el sábado por la mañana y las persianas están levantadas, el café está gestando, las luces principales están abogados y John Lucas suevamente está transmite a través del Bose.

El semestre primavera acaba de empezar aquí en Chapel Hill y sé que No estoy solo en sentir el peso de ella - la sobre estimulación de ver todos, navegando por los pasillos y recibir notificaciones por correo electrónico sin fin.

Estas últimas semanas, en campus precioso de Carolina han sido un marcado contraste con las tres semanas anteriores en Greensboro.

En casa, se complació en lento por la mañana con desayunos saludables, programar una actividad al día y dedicado mi tiempo a hacer las cosas simples – crear, ir de compras de las tiendas segundas manos y conectar con familiares y amigos.

El regreso inicial a Chapel Hill, donde tiempo es dinero y valor es valor está ligado directamente al desempeño académico, social y extensión universitaria, después de una ruptura siempre es algo inquietante para mí.

Mientras me encanta Carolina, no me encanta a la dureza de la cultura académica. “Más es más” parece ser el lema táctico, y si tienes margen en tu vida, estás haciendo algo mal.

Constantemente oigo murmullos,

“¿Lo realmente hicieron hoy? ¿Realmente merecen tomar una siesta?

¿Has decidido lo que vas a hacer mañana, el fin de semana siguiente, este verano?"

Pero, en una voz más llamadas,

"Mare, salen a pastar y descansar en la paz que yo soy.

Dejar de tu esfuerzo, visiones y agenda. Recíbame y mis sueños para tu vida.

Dejarlos convertirse en su propio."

Salmas 23 | Jeremía 29

Tengo que tomar un momento por momento, decisión sobre cual invitación para aceptar. Todos hacemos. Esta mentalidad obsesionada con la productividad no está limitada a los millennials o único de las universidades, pero preside a través de generaciones.

Profundo en mi alma, sé que el llamado del pastor es el más alto, más saludable, hay. Sin embargo, a veces elijo a desviarse de su camino. Decido abrir mi propio camino o seguir la cultura.

En el momento los dos parecen viables y buenos.

Pero luego, vacío e inseguro porque no puedo absolutamente mantenerse o porque se ha disparado en una raíz y cayó sobre mi cara, me doy cuenta, para la décima vez aquel día, que este camino de rendimiento no es donde quiero estar.

En cambio, quiero avanzar a un ritmo constante, detenerse cuando es necesario, para observar los detalles:

flores congeladas, cardenales rojos, a l e g r í a simple.

No sé si mi vocación a un ritmo más lento de la vida vino después de que descubrí Café Cultura Contador o si elegí ese porque fue muy bien con el tema, pero sé que vivir más despacio, intencionalmente programar margen en nuestras vidas día a día y no quedarse atrapados en la trampa de rendimiento son exactamente eso - contador cultural.

Como nota, recomiendo

el café. Es sostenible y asado

cerca de campus - Durham, NC.

Hoy en día, este estilo de vida es fácil. Mira como yo descansando en mi habitación, bebiendo café, reflexionar y escribir. El resto de la semana será un poco más complicado. Que va luchando para calma en medio de las clases, amistades y trabajo. Difícil, pero muy necesario.

La aventura es que cada día parece diferente. Cada día es una nueva invitación a andar junto al pastor, a donde él conduce.

Sin embargo, el hilo que mantiene unida a cada día es

plena seguridad que mi valor no viene de algo hacer o no hacer

Por el contrario, es concedido sobre mí de Él quien me hizo.

Esta seguridad, hace toda la diferencia.

Vamos a disfrutar de nuestros momentos, dondequiera que estén.

Vamos a pausar para apreciar la belleza que nos ha estado esperando.

Vamos a desafiar la cultura de la productividad idolatrada.


bottom of page