top of page

Leaving the woods | Dejando el bosque


birthday light.

We arrived about halfway through the third Christmas hymn. True Gwynn fashion. The room was dimly lit- the overheads were off and the only source of light was dainty strings hanging across the room. There was space to feel and not be worried about others seeing you. A violinist and the worship singer began O Holy Night and I began to feel a lot.

The past few months I’ve struggled with a habitual sin. King Jesus has been dethroned and replaced by another. I didn’t realize the gravity of the situation until I realized I felt really alone. I was surrounded by friends, family, love, but my dearest companion and truest love was distant. I came to realize that in order to coexist with my idol, I had to detach myself spiritually and emotionally.

This realization confused me. How could Immanuel – literally God’s promise to us of his eternal nearness – be distant? Was it because I couldn’t quite get it right? I couldn’t quite get control over this idolatry business? I began questioning his commitment to me. I began questioning his nature.

One of the best ways I can detect an idol – a disordered love – is the outpour of anger. I am a passionate person, but not angry. When I am fully covered in Christ’s grace and He is in his proper place, the little upsets roll right of my back. But, when Christ is not on the throne of my heart, when another person, thing, dream or even myself is in His place, the littlest things spark rage. Knowing this, whenever I get angry, I try to trace it all back to the root. For me, there’s always a root.

Walking in to the service I was still sensing space between Christ and myself. I longed to feel His fullness, His presence.

At Grace Community Church's Christmas Eve service, the head pastor mentioned that a lot of evil happens in the dark. I resonated with that. A lot of my sin had happened in the dark. His message was all about Christ’s redemption – the healing light.

When O Holy Night started up and the crowd rose, I stayed seated. I asked the Lord to speak to me, to shed some clarity on my condition. With the words fresh on my heart, the Lord gave me a vision.

I was Gollum, from The Lord of the Rings.

I lived deep in a dark forest and had never seen light.

In the distant there was a dim glow.

I was drawn to it like a magnet. It pulled me to itself. It begged me to come near.

As I got closer and closer to the light,

I realized it was a stable. The stable. The nativity.

All the while I walked I clutched “My Precious,” my idol.

When I got to stable, I was completely exposed. My ugliness was

no longer a secret, but totally visible.

The light moved me.

I released my precious, the golden ring, and offered it as a gift – like the three wise men.

That sacrifice changed me.

In that moment, I was freed from darkness’s shackles.

I became beautiful.

I became myself.

I am realizing that this is what Jesus asks of me. To continually surrender all joys, sorrows, loves and burdens to himself. To continually recognize him as my King, my first Love, my healing light. To leave the woods and come to the stable.

I am realizing that he is in the business of redemption. Not just a bimonthly affair, but a moment by moment process of restoration.

Thank you, Lord, for your faithfulness. For not growing weary in your pursuit of my heart. I pray that 2017 would be a year of light. Light that calls us out of darkness and leads us to your healing embrace.

...

birthday light.

Nos lleguemos casi medio por la tercera canción de navidad. La manera Gwynn. La habitación estaba iluminada tenuemente - la luz principal estaba apagado y el solo fuente de la luz era delicadas cuerdas colgantes en toda la habitación. Había espacio para sentirse y no se preocupa que personas se veía. Una violinista y cantante de culto empezaron O Holy Night y yo empecé a sentir mucho.

Por unas mesas yo he estado luchando con un pecador repetido El Rey Jesús había sido destronado y sustituido por un otro. No me di cuenta la gravedad de la situación hasta me di cuenta que yo sentí muy sola. Era rodeado de amigos, familia y amor, pero mi querido compañero, mi amor verdadero era distante. Me di cuenta con el fin de convivir con mi ídolo, tuve que separar yo espiritualmente y emocionalmente.

Esta realización me confundió. ¿Cómo podría ser distante Immanuel – literalmente el promeso de Dios a nosotros de su presencia eterna? ¿Era porque yo no podía absolutamente hacerlo bien? ¿No pude conseguir bastante control sobre este negocio de idolatría? Comencé a cuestionar su compromiso con la me. Comencé a cuestionar su naturaleza.

Uno de las mejores maneras en que puedo detectar un ídolo – un amor desordenado – es el flujo de enoja. Soy una persona apasionada pero no enojada. Cuando soy cubierta completamente en la gracia de Cristo y Él está en su lugar, los pocos molestas ruedan derecho de mi espalda. Pero, cuando Cristo no está en el trono de mi corazón, cuando una otra persona, cosa, sueño o incluso a mí mismo está en su lugar, las cosas más pequeñas chispean de rabia. Sabiendo esto, cada vez que me enojo, trate de rastrear todo volver a la raíz. Para mí, es siempre una raíz.

Caminando en el servicio estaba todavía la percepción de espacio entre Cristo y mi. Añoraba sentir su plenitud, su presencia.

En el servicio de Nochebuena de La Iglesia Gracia Comunidad, el pastor principal mencionó que mucho mal ocurren en la oscuridad. Resoné con eso. Había pasado mucho de mi pecado en la oscuridad. Su mensaje fue sobre la redención de Cristo – la luz curativa.

Cuando O Holy Night empezó y la multitud se levantaron me quedé sentado. Pregunté a el Señor hablar conmigo, para arrojar cierta claridad sobre mi condición. Con las palabras frescos en mi Corazón, el Señor me dio una visión.

Era Gollum, de The Lord of the Rings.

Vivía en un bosque oscuro y nunca me había visto la luz.

En la distante había un resplandor tenue.

me fui atraído a él como un imán. Me tiró a sí mismo. Me cerca pidió.

Al ponerme más y más a la luz,

se dio cuenta fue un establo. El establo. La Natividad.

Mientras caminé yo agarró "Mi preciosa,” mi ídolo.

Al llegar al establo, estaba completamente expuesto. Mi fealdad era

ya no es un secreto, pero totalmente visible.

La luz me conmovió.

I liberado a mi precioso, el anillo de oro y se lo ofreció como un regalo – como los tres Reyes Magos.

El sacrificio me cambió.

En ese momento, estaba liberado de los grilletes de la oscuridad.

Me convertí en hermosa.

Me convertí en culparme.

Estoy dando cuenta que esta es lo que Jesús pregunta de mí. entregar todas las alegrías, tristezas, amores y cargas a sí mismo. A continuamente reconocerlo Él como mi Rey, mi Primero Amor, mí luz curativa. A dejar el bosque y venir a la estable.

Estoy dando cuenta que Él está en el negocio de redención. No solo un asunto de bimensual, pero un momento en proceso de restauración.

Gracias Señor por su fidelidad. Para no crecer cansados en su búsqueda de mi corazón. Ruego que 2017 sería un año de la luz. Luz que nos llama de las tinieblas y nos conduce a tu abrazo curativo.


bottom of page